## Mohammad Faiz Alam Khan and Justice N Seshasayee were appointed as NCLAT judicial members.



The NCLAT now has 12 members, including the Chairperson, Judicial Members, and Technical Members, as a result of these appointments.

On May 14, Justices N Sesha Sayee and Muhammad Faiz Alam Khan were appointed as Judicial Members of the National Company Law Appellate Tribunal (NCLAT) by the Ministry of Corporate Affairs.

Until the appointees reach the age of 67, whichever comes first, these appointments are valid for four years after the date of assumption of office.

The NCLAT now has 12 members, including the Chairperson, Judicial Members, and Technical Members, as a result of these appointments. In order to assist plaintiffs from the southern states, the tribunal established a regional bench in Chennai in addition to its main court in New Delhi.

The NCLAT is currently chaired by Justice (retd) Ashok Bhushan.

On January 8, 1963, Justice N Sesha Sayee was born in Mancompu, Kerala. He earned his law degree from Madras Law College in 1986 after completing his undergraduate studies in economics at Scott Christian College in Nagercoil. In the same year, he started practicing law

and enrolled as an advocate. He was named a direct district judge in 2004. On November 16, 2016, he was promoted to Additional Judge of the Madras High Court, and on November 2, 2018, he was become a permanent judge. Following eight years of service, Justice Sesha Sayee retired from the Madras High Court on January 7, 2025.

On January 26, 1963, Justice Muhammad Faiz Alam Khan was born. He became a member of the Higher Judicial Service in 2005 after earning his law degree in 1986. In 2016, he was elevated to the position of District & Sessions Judge. On November 22, 2018, he was named an Additional Judge of the Allahabad High Court, and on November 20, 2020, he was sworn in as a Permanent Judge. On January 25, 2025, Justice Khan announced his retirement from the Allahabad High Court.

Established by the Companies Act of 2013, the NCLAT is the final arbiter of cases decided by the Competition Commission of India (CCI), the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Board of India (IBBI), and the National Company Law Tribunal (NCLT).